Interested in tickets for the 2022 Calder Cup Playoffs?

Buy Now

The American Hockey League playoff format is a little unique and to help educate fans, below are the qualification rules and the format for the 2022 Calder Cup Playoffs.

23 teams will qualify for postseason play, with five rounds of playoffs leading to the crowning of a Calder Cup champion.

In each of the AHL’s four divisions, all but two teams will qualify for postseason play in 2022, creating a playoff field of seven in the Abbotsford Canucks Pacific Division, six teams in the Atlantic Division, five in the North Division and five in the Central Division. To qualify for the playoffs, teams will be ranked by points percentage in the regular-season standings.

The first-place team in the Pacific Division, the top two teams in the Atlantic Division, and the top three teams in each of the North and Central Divisions receive byes into the Division Semifinals.

First Round match-ups will be best-of-three and winners will be re-seeded within their division.

Division Semifinals and Division Finals are best-of-five.

Conference Finals and Calder Cup Finals are best-of-seven.

The 2022 Calder Cup Playoffs are expected to finish by June 23.

Enter for your chance to qualify to win a traveland trail!